Back to Listings
Established in 1935 and opened in 1976, Fort Stanwix National Monument commemorates the original fort which protected the Oneida Carry as European nations fought for control of this portage, the homelands of the Six Nations Confederacy, and the rich resources of North America. One of 400+ National Park Service sites, Fort Stanwix National Monument offers a full-scale reconstruction of the original fort built in 1758 by the British during the French and Indian War and occupied by Americans during the Revolutionary War. In 1777 it became known as "the fort the never surrendered." The park offers an extensive exhibit area in the Marinus Willett Center. Here one can explore centuries of history through the many interpretive exhibits and cases of artifacts unearthed on site. The park also manages both the Oriskany Battlefield State Historic Site and the Steuben Memorial State Historic Site, all three locations inexorably connected from the time of the American Revolution. In spring, summer and fall, the park is open 7 days a week. Winter hours vary. Please check the park website for additional information about hours. tours, and special events, or call 315-338-7730 and ask to speak with a park ranger. Visitors are also welcome to enjoy the free park cell phone tour at any time while you walk the grounds by calling 315-271-2059.